MILWAUKEE, Wis. — The Assn. of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM) announced the winners of its agricultural engineering student awards during special ceremonies at the recent annual international meeting of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) in New Orleans, La.

AEM is a longtime supporter of ASABE and its mission to advance engineering excellence, and since 1935 it has recognized outstanding initiative and accomplishment in ASABE university branches with the AEM Trophies Competition awards. ASABE student branches help undergraduates become more knowledgeable about their chosen profession.

Honored in 2015 for their outstanding record of activities and achievement were:

Engineering Branch — First Place: Kansas Engineering Student Branch, Kansas State University and Second Place: University of Wisconsin Engineering Student Branch, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Technology Branch — First Place: Iowa Agricultural Systems Technology Club, Iowa State University and Second Place: Kansas Agricultural Technology Management Club, Kansas State University

Keynote speakers at the event were Richard (Dick) Straub, Ph.D., PE and senior associate dean with the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Bailey Richardson of Iowa State University and ASABE International Pre-professional Community (IPC) President. The program closed with an update on a new ASABE “seatbelt and ROPS safety video” student branch competition, a continuation of an ASABE safety program initiated in 2013.

New starting in 2015: the awards are now entirely web-based, enhancing the image of the student branches and their departments and offering consistent, relevant information that is fully accessible to students, faculty, manufacturers, prospective students and the public.

View university links: Engineering: Kansas State University, University of Wisconsin-Madison and Technology: Iowa State University, Kansas State University.

For more information about the AEM student awards, contact AEM’s Mike Weber (

For more information about ASABE, visit

About AEM
The Assn. of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM) is the North American-based international trade group providing innovative business development resources to advance the off-road equipment manufacturing industry in the global marketplace. AEM membership comprises more than 900 companies and more than 200 product lines in the agriculture, construction, forestry, mining and utility sectors worldwide. AEM is headquartered in Milwaukee, Wis., with offices in the world capitals of Washington, D.C.; Ottawa, Canada; and Beijing, China.