The Assn. of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM) honored the latest winners of its agricultural engineering student achievement awards during special ceremonies at the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers’ (ASABE) recent annual meeting.

AEM hosted the 76th Annual AEM Student Awards luncheon at the ASABE meeting to announce the student winners as well as provide them opportunities to network with equipment manufacturers and learn more about the off-road equipment manufacturing industry.

AEM is a longtime supporter of ASABE and its mission to advance engineering applicable to agricultural, food, and biological systems. Since the 1930s, AEM has recognized outstanding initiative and accomplishment in ASABE university branches, which help undergraduates become more knowledgeable about their chosen profession.

2013 AEM student award winners are:

  • Large Student Engineering Branches (Group A): Iowa State Univ., Kansas State Univ.
  • Smaller Student Engineering Branches (Group B): Univ. of Tennessee

The luncheon also kicked off the new student-focused ASABE Agricultural Seatbelt Usage and ROPS Logo Design Contest. The logo will be part of a national ROPS promotion strategy for North America. The contest offers cash prizes; deadline to enter is March 15, 2014. Visit the ASABE website ( for details.

Fostering use of operator restraints and seat belt usage in member company products is a key multi-sector priority for AEM, through its Technical & Safety Council. For more information, contact AEM’s Mike Weber ( For more information on the AEM student awards, contact AEM’s Brian Voss (