The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) has named Darrin Drollinger executive director of the organization.

Drollinger was elected to the new position by the ASABE Board of Trustees, at the Society’s 2010 Annual International Meeting, held recently in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  He will serve as ASABE’s executive officer as well as secretary to the Society and to the ASABE Foundation.

Drollinger is a 21-year member of ASABE with more than 20 years of experience in association management. In making the announcement, Ron Yoder, 2009-2010 ASABE president, lauded Drollinger’s record and enthusiasm.

“Darrin brings to the executive director position outstanding leadership skills, extensive association management and international relations experience, and a passion for agricultural and biological engineering,” said Yoder.

Drollinger’s interest in agricultural and biological engineering began in his family's Ohio greenhouse business and continued at The Ohio State University, where he graduated with a degree in agricultural engineering. He also holds an MBA from Loyola University of Chicago. He comes to ASABE from the Association of Equipment Manufacturers, where he served as vice president of Statistics, Technical and Safety Services.

Upon accepting the position Drollinger stated, "I'm honored to be nominated as the ninth leader for the Society in our 103-year history."  Drollinger added, “I want to work for the best professional society in the world.  My best hope in securing this reward is to commit my energies, talents and ideas into making ASABE that society.”

The naming of Drollinger to the position allows Interim Executive Vice President Mark D. Zielke to return to his previous responsibilities within ASABE as comptroller and director of human resources. Zielke served in the interim position for one year, during the executive search, earning praise for his efforts. “Mark provided exemplary service and stability to the Society during the transitional period,” said Ron McAllister, current ASABE president.